Running is refreshing, but it is not who I am…

Ok, so in my 9 days off from work I am trying to do lots of things that are refreshing… Today I started my vacation out with a 5 mile run with one of my best friends. It’s odd how something some people loathe is something I thoroughly enjoy. And it is humbling that I can only do so much of it.

I still can’t get past 6 miles without lots of pain, but I am learning to live with my diagnosis and slowly building myself back up in miles. Whatever I have to do, I will carefully do it. Right now, that something is slowly moving back into distance. I long to do a half marathon because it was/is a goal of mine but I must admit that I am ok if I don’t. Running isn’t what defines who I am. Yes, it makes me feel great, it gives me time to spend with friends, and time to spend in prayer when I run alone – still it is not “who” I am. It is a part of me, but it is not my definition. I am a runner, but I am also so much more than that. I’m a wife, a mother, a sister, a friend…a follower of Jesus. So, my goal currently is just to keep running because I enjoy it…if I never make it to my 13.1 miles of accomplishment – it will be ok because my old friend “running” will still spend time with me when we can, and I will take whatever time & distance I can get.

Do you have a dream that you long for accomplishing but for whatever reason life or your body holds you back? Don’t give up…just give it to the Lord & give it your best but don’t let it take over your life. Remember, your worth and the very definition of who you are is not defined in what you can or can’t do…but in Jesus. And that is a great, wonderful thing đŸ™‚

Love in Christ, Amy

This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

