Thirty-three Gifts – Inspiring Kindness

Thirty-three gifts.

 “Every good and perfect thing is from above…” James 1:17

I have wrestled over this for a while now. Fear that people would misunderstand or misinterpret my intentions. Fear that people would think this is stupid or would not desire to join in the gifts. But, in the process of worrying about people’s reception and interpretation – I came across Proverbs 29:25 “fearing people is a dangerous trap but trusting the Lord means safety.” And then a friend messaged me out of the blue about a gift that I had given her and kindness I had shown her years ago was still having an impact. Little whispers that I am on the right track… To not fear people…but to desire to trust Him and what I know He has placed on my heart to do.

You’re probably curious what I am talking about? I hope you are! 🙂 I feel led to take place in a kindness campaign. Basically, for the 33 days leading up to my 33rd birthday I am going to focus on spreading kindness. The dates are 4/6 – 5/8/14. What I am asking my friends and family is that instead of buying me a gift, I would like you all to do at least one kind thing for someone over the next 33 days. The more the merrier but at least 1 day where you set out to do at least one thing intentionally to bless someone else and to show them kindness. You are not obligated to, but it would mean so much if you would share with me about your act of kindness. That can be my gift from you – to rejoice with you in the goodness of God through these intentional acts of kindness. 🙂 

I have a list of things I plan to accomplish over the next 33 days and I am excited, scared, & nervous but incredibly ready to see what God has ahead of me. Please join me in spreading intentional kindness to others! It can be random like buying someone’s meal or coffee in line behind you. Or it can be intentional/planned like meeting up with a friend who is facing difficulty and giving them your most precious commodity: time. It can be community focused like volunteering at the community kitchen – anything! It doesn’t have to cost, and it doesn’t have to be crazy – just show love to someone, somewhere and in some way. Again, the only gift I am asking for is that you would text, email, or comment here and tell me about your act of kindness. It would bless me tremendously to hear what all God is doing through this – through you!

And please, if someone asks “why?” Point to Jesus. Tell them that you are just sharing His love with them in a practical way. Pray that God would place the right person in your path and that He would guide you. Maybe your gift is to pray with a coworker or neighbor in need? Pray and listen – He will guide you. Perhaps you feel led to help me with one of my crazy shenanigans I have planned? If so, I welcome the help – let me know. 🙂

I cannot wait to hear of what all God is going to do in this through His people. We are His hands and His feet. Will you join me?

In Christ,

Amy

 

“And I am praying that you will put into action the generosity that comes from your faith as you understand and experience all the good things we have in Christ. Your love has given me much joy and comfort…for your kindness has often refreshed the hearts of God’s people.” – Philemon 1:6-7

 

Image

 

 

Please, check out this song by Matthew West. It’s the perfect theme: “It’s time for us to do something!”

http://youtu.be/b_RjndG0IX8 

 

Day 1 starts Sunday! I’ll be posting updates and ideas of how you can spread kindness. God bless you for being willing to “do something”! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thirty-three Gifts – Inspiring Kindness

  1. Pingback: Kindness ideas post #1 | Amy Eaton's Blog

Leave a Reply

