Undeserved Grace – A Marriage Moment

Tonight I came home from work and was really crabby. It hadn’t started out that way. In fact, I was super friendly throughout the day, and still friendly while chatting over the phone with my husband on the way home.

When I made it into my house I found myself in “a mood.” I’m an analyst by profession, I have a B.S. and M.S. in Psychology – I like to figure things and people out. I could analyze what caused me to be this way but it doesn’t matter. I had no valid, real reason to be so grumpy.

My husband picked up on my crankiness, and you know what he did? He called me out on it…and then…he served me. 

He had me remove the stress of the day (aka my fancy business clothes) and put on the something much more comfortable (i.e. this beautiful invention called “fuzzy socks and pajama pants.”) Then, he had me go relax; curl up with a fuzzy blanket and my fur-baby (Cole the Mini) and he made dinner. While I waited, he brought me a fresh, hot caramel apple cider, turned on my blue tooth speaker so I could play my favorite worship music and just sit and read while he served me.

Y’all! Do you understand what just happened? I was so undeserving of this treatment. I was crabby and grumpy. I did not deserve such kindness in this moment. However, my husband loved me like Jesus loves. He did not give me what I deserved. He loved me despite my flaws, took the stress of the day off of my back, removed the burden of the evening through preparing a meal for me, and served me. Sacrificial love. A servant’s heart.

Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it; so that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, that He might present to Himself the church in all her glory, having no spot or wrinkle or any such thing; but that she would be holy and blameless. So husbands ought also to love their own wives as their own bodies. He who loves his own wife loves himself;for no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ also does the church, because we are members of His body. For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and shall be joined to his wife and the two shall become one flesh…(Ephesians 5:25-31.)

My husband was Christ’s love extended to me tonight. Despite my flaws, he chooses me. Loves me. Serves and pours kindness out upon me. I could be given no greater compliment than to know that this precious man chooses me. Every day, he chooses me and loves me. I want to spend my life honoring his choice and making him grateful to have made it. 

I meditated on that moment and then I wept. I worshiped the Lord, prayed to and thanked Him, and I wept. I’ll never deserve his love, but I will always worship the One Who gave him to me, and I will live my every day giving him my very best…and then…I’ll pray for help to be even more.

forever my always

This entry was posted in adult life, Kindness, marriage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Undeserved Grace – A Marriage Moment

  1. GT says:

    He is a keeper!

    Like

Leave a Reply

