Does God Still Heal?

Jeremiah 17  14

The Bible is full of miracles. I’ve seen miracles myself. God has healed me of some things, yet not of others. I’ve heard reports in my own family of someone being healed of a disease with such certainty that the doctors were afraid they had the wrong patient file… I’ve also seen people wither and fade like the flowers that are beyond their season (Isaiah 40:6-8.) I’ve watched loved ones succumb to cancer and disease. I’ve witnessed the labored breaths in the final moments of someone dear to my heart. I’ve lost loved ones in instant moments where my heart has been ripped into pieces as I tried to grasp the reality of their loss.

So…Does God still heal?

It’s not that I don’t believe God can heal. That’s not the question. The question is phrased does God still heal. This question stems from a place within where I grasp the reality that I don’t know that He will choose to heal me. Or those I pray for and ask Him to heal. I do believe He still heals, but I do not believe it is always in accordance to our desires.

I know God’s ways are higher than mine and His thoughts are beyond me. I also know and have seen how He will use my human frailty to accomplish kingdom appointments. So I pray for healing, but I trust His outcome.

blessed be God the Father 2 Corin 1  3-5

I’ve seen him choose not to heal me and me still not understand why as the “kingdom appointment” did not appear to come. But, still I trust Him. I do believe that God remains faithful. I can still say with certainty that it is well with my soul. As my human mind tries to grasp and understand I am reminded again, that my ways are no where near His. (Isaiah 55:8) My thoughts and my expectations cannot compare to the will of the Father. I’ve seen Him “heal” someone by setting that individual free from their physical body and allowing them to enter into eternity.

I admit, I don’t always dwell on the reality that this is not our home. Our bodies are temporary (Psalm 144:4.) We live in a broken world. Disease, sin, and pain are all a part of this world that we live in. There is nothing in the Bible that says that we will not face sickness or trials. In fact, He tells over and again that we will face difficulties in this life but that we have overcome this world. By the blood of the Lamb, and the word of our testimony we overcome (Revelation 12:11 NIV.) We proclaim faith and we trust and we seek and we pray. We don’t stop praying because the outcome is not what we desired. We don’t stop praying because we cannot understand the scary things we see on the news or the reasons why a loved one is taken home rather than healed here.

This world is not our home (2nd Corinthians 5:6-8.)

As a believer in Christ, death is not the end. It is not something to be feared (Revelation 12:11 NLT.) Paul said “For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” (Philippians 1:21) Several years ago my grandfather repeated those words to me just a few months before his passing. He had a radical encounter with Jesus just before his 81st birthday and desired Him and His word with great hunger in his remaining 3 years on Earth. He was aware that his last days were coming, as the cancer was not going away this time. He was frail and weak but during our many talks he told me he was ready to go home. Yet, he was ready also to live. He said to me I feel like Paul, if I live then I can tell more about Jesus as He sends them to me, and if I die, then I get to be with Jesus and my bride. (Philippians 1:21)

My heart was heavy with gratitude for his faith but brokenness knowing that this was very likely the end. That my prayers for an earthly healing were not going to result in the outcome that I wanted. He was on his way home to Jesus. He took his last breaths a few months later as his grandchildren and children prayed over him and I still cannot forget his faith-filled words, though it’s been years since we embraced and talked.

I’ve seen other lovers of Christ that were near to my heart go home to be with the Lord as the result of disease. It’s tough to understand. In fact, I can only grasp it with the knowledge and promises I find in God’s Holy Word. I accept that His will is true, noble, and trustworthy.

IMG_111560205681063

“But what can I say? He has spoken to me, and he himself has done this. I will walk humbly all my years because of this anguish of my soul. Lord, by such things men live; and my spirit finds life in them, too. You restored me to health and let me live. Surely it was for my benefit that I suffered such anguish. In your love you kept me from the pit of destruction; you have put all my sins behind your back. For the grave cannot praise you, death cannot sing your praise; those who go down to the pit cannot hope for your faithfulness. The living, the living – they praise you, as I am doing today; fathers tell their children about your faithfulness. The Lord will save me, and we will sing with stringed instruments all the days of our lives in the temple of the Lord.” (Isaiah 38:15-20) 

God does not always heal us of our disease. Sometimes he uses that “anguish” for His purposes. There are incredible people from the Bible who lived with ailments that served as a reminder of how temporary our moments are here and how much we need the Lord. Jacob’s limp/hip. Paul’s thorn. Our frailty can be the very thing that shapes us:

“But we have this treasure in jars of claim to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may be revealed in our mortal body. So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you. It is written: ‘I believed; therefore I have spoken.’ With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak, because we know that the one who raised the Lord Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you in his presence. All this is for your benefit, so that the grace that is reaching more and more people may cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God. Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:7-13)

Yes, I believe that God still heals. But I also believe that our idea or desired outcome is not always His will. But I will trust in His unfailing love, for he who started a good work in us will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. (Philippians 1:6)

Philippians 1 - 6

I leave you with one more Word from the very breath of God, the Holy Bible:

“Rejoice in the Lord always, I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:4-7)

Friend, no matter the outcome, you do not have to be afraid. He remains the ultimate healer, creator, comfort, and peace. Don’t hold back your prayers, bring them to the Father and experience peace that cannot be explained. For this peace will guard your heart and mind in Jesus.

In Christ,

Amy

This entry was posted in faith, healing, prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

