Worship Series – Pieces (Steffany Gretzinger)

Worship Series – Pieces (Steffany Gretzinger)

This is a continuation of a series where we are taking a deeper look at worship songs so we can contemplate what they are saying to our own spirits.

pieces amanda cook

Sometimes there are songs that remind me of the broken places of my heart. The mortality, frailty, and misuse of this gentle place within me. I had never heard “Pieces” by Steffany Gretzinger until I started looking into the song more after hearing her sing it on Bethel’s album, Have It All (video here.) I imagine there are some raw places that Steffany wrote this song from; it sure surfaces some for me. I am well loved by my family, so don’t mistake this as a pity party or shame-fest. This is simply going to be a vulnerable post where I share some details that I only share with the hope that it connects with another heart and brings refreshing and encouragement that you are not alone, and that there is a perfect Healer for those broken spaces…

I come from what is considered a broken home. My parents divorced when I was a teenager and I had a hard time with it. I remember being so angry that I moved in with my boyfriend. Big mistake. First of all, this was entirely inappropriate but I was broken and desperately wanted to believe the love I needed was found there. After a few years of heartache, a baby, marriage, and divorce of my own later – I found myself a very broken little girl in a young woman’s body with a sweet little infant to raise on my own. I had allowed my heart to be used, abused, and torn. I had undergone a period where death was being spoken into me so much that my self-worth was whittled to the point of frailty. I was desperate for redemption, worth, value, and love – and somewhere in the chaos I found Jesus.

After I gave my life to Jesus, my world had continued to spiral, or so it seemed. Faced with the choice to go back to the old life or to choose the scary, unknown new life in Christ I continued to pursue life for Him. Over time things were better. My circumstances were still difficult, my problems didn’t magically go away – in fact some became bigger… The difference was that something was healing the broken places in my life. Something was restoring the brokenness I had deep within my heart and my spirit. I was beginning to know that I was loved and to embrace the love Father God had for me. I was beginning to realize the truth that I was reading in the Bible. That there was life in His Words there among the pages. That my joy came from Him and not my circumstances. That my past no longer defined me, but that my value and worth was found in Him and His great love for me.

This brings me back to the song, “Pieces.” Such a powerful song declaring the incredible love God has for us… Let’s review the first verse:

Unreserved, unrestrained
Your love is wild
Your love is wild for me
It isn’t shy, it’s unashamed
Your love is proud
To be seen with me

You don’t give Your heart in pieces
You don’t hide Yourself to tease us

Coming from a girl who was once told “no one wants you, no one will ever want you” by a man that was supposed to be her husband – these lyrics touch a tender (now fully-redeemed) place in my heart. God took the brokenness of my past where a poisoned relationship left me tattered and pursued me with intentional redemption. He restored my soul (Psalm 23:3 NASB.) And as Steffany so eloquently wrote: His love for me is wild, not shy, not ashamed, unreserved, unrestrained – proud to be seen with me.

Verse two:

Uncontrolled, uncontained
Your love is a fire
Burning bright for me
It’s not just a spark
It’s not just a flame
Your love is a light
That all the world will see
All the world will see

You don’t give Your heart in pieces
You don’t hide Yourself to tease us

His love is not only uncontrolled and uncontained, but it is a fire that is burning bright for me and a light for all the world to see. Not simply a spark or flame either – He is an all-consuming fire (Hebrews 12:29)! You guys, God’s love for you is passionate! He is so zealous in His love and is relentless in His pursuit to bring you back to Him, no matter how far you stray (Deuteronomy 30:4)! So much intentionality that He put on flesh to dwell among us in the form of Jesus and gave Himself as a ransom for our sins that we can be in full relationship with Him (John 15:13, John 3:16, 1 John 4:9-11)!

Verse three:

Your love’s not fractured
It’s not a troubled mind
It isn’t anxious
It’s not the restless kind
Your love’s not passive
It’s never disengaged
It’s always present
It hangs on every word we say
Love keeps its promises
It keep its word
It honors what’s sacred
‘Cause its vows are good
Your love’s not broken
It’s not insecure
Your love’s not selfish
Your love is pure

You don’t give Your heart in pieces
You don’t hide Yourself to tease us

His love is not broken or fractured, and is not tainted by a selfish motive or ill will. He doesn’t grow restless of you. He’s not disengaged – His love is always present, He keeps His promises – His word is good – His vows are good – His love is pure! (Psalm 86:15, Psalm 57:10, Psalm 119:76, Deuteronomy 7:9, Ephesians 3:17-18 – I could keep going. His Word is FULL of declarations, reminders, and promises of His love!)

Do you also come from broken places? Can I remind you that in Him, you are broken no more? That there is beauty in our ashes. In our broken spaces. There is healing found in Him. Do you know Him in this way? You can… He wants you to. Psalm 139 is a chapter that spoke life into the dead places in the beginning years of my restoration. No matter what I had done, no matter how far I had run – no matter how useless to Him I thought I might be – the only thing He cared about was reminding me that He knew all of those places and thoughts – and still loved me with a love I can barely comprehend with my human mind – a love with such passion and pursuit, He would sacrifice Himself to allow me to know Him intimately. To know Him in this way, it’s truly as simple as declaring to Him that you know that you are broken and that sin has had unwanted places in your life – but that you acknowledge Jesus as Lord in your life. Pursue Him through His Word. Through prayer. Seek Him, and I assure you – you will find Him.

He does not give His heart in pieces.

May you come to know the fullness of His steadfast love for you.

In Christ,

Amy

your love is wild for me

Resources: 

Check out the official lyric video with Amanda Cook singing here.

Read more from this Facebook post from Bethel where they share a link to the blog from Amanda: here.

Buy the album here.

Read more about my redemption story here.

Image links here and here.

This entry was posted in discipleship, faith, healing, marriage, prayer, relationships, Uncategorized, worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

