Sharing Love and Sharing Joy

This morning I wept upon reading my devotional. Tears poured down my face as I shared my heart with my redeemer.

This morning the devotional is from Max Lucado’s Grace for the Moment (Morning/Evening edition). It’s short, simple and powerful. When I prepared to read I said a short, simple prayer asking God to prepare my heart for the word he had for me today. And when I read it – I wept.

Grace for the Moment by Max Lucado (Morning & Evening edition)

It is the cry of my heart! Ever since I found myself in this wild existence of Christianity I have longed to live my life in a way that is pleasing to him. That points to him. That the legacy I leave in the hearts and minds of anyone I meet is one that honors him and brings a smile or a sense of something positive into their lives. My heart is to touch people one at a time in such a way that they feel known. That they feel as though they matter. BECAUSE THEY DO! YOU DO! WE ALL DO! We matter to Jesus. Everything about us matters to him. The joy – the mess – the failures and our success – everything matters. 

You know what’s best of all – NOTHING we could EVER do could separate us from his love. Nothing. No-thing. No thing.

Let that soak in…

Were you once or currently a thief? He still loves you. 

Have you murder or lust in your heart? He loves you too. 

Ungrateful and bitter or unkind? Loves you still. Always has, always will. 

No sin is too great, no shame too low – we cannot escape his presence and we cannot escape his love. We only need to declare him Lord and seek him in our lives and he does something radical. He changes us from the inside out. He breaks us free of things we can’t shed on our own. 

And thank God. Seriously! Not one of us has this life figured out. Not one! We ALL make mistakes every day and to be honest, sometimes I am appalled at my own attitude and think to myself how can he love me? But yet he does. My past tries to shame me – but my savior redeems me. 

To that I say – I am not my past. My past is part of who I am – but it is not who I am. I am new, redeemed, made whole. I was broken – and he was and is my hope. He’s the hope for the broken. And my heart soars at the thought of all he has done in me. 

It is because of that hope that I have joy. It is because of that hope that I am not poor in spirit. I can rejoice, I can laugh, and I can love. I can love others and make them feel loved. What an honor! 

If you are reading this and you know me – I hope that I have been a joy in your life. I hope that in some small way I have planted a seed of kindness in your heart and if so – I want you to know it is from Jesus. It is by his grace and power that I am who I am today and outside of him I am nothing. 

May his love and grace shine upon you, and may you too desire to bless others every day. Be it a smile, a hug, a call, or anything – share the love.

In Christ,

Amy 

This entry was posted in encouragement, faith, missions, prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

